Not in my Dictionary

So, please tell me I’m not the only person within the billions of people who are annoyed that words like ‘Selfie’ and ‘twerk’ (whatever that is) actually made it into the dictionary. Yes, yes, I understand that it’s now part of our social world, and that it’s slang, and there are probably thousands of words that were originally slang… still, that doesn’t mean I’m not allowed to disapprove. (I’m not a dictionary person, so no, I don’t know the history of all the words in the world nor am I an entomologist. Frankly, I admire them.) It’s totally understandable that our current slangs/dialects are heavily influenced by our own communities, but at the same time, you’d think words like Selfie would not make it into the dictionary. Then when I thought about it some more (already in a hissy state) I wondered how many words I actually used were original slang. But that’s another matter for another time. I’m just curious if anyone else ever wondered how certain words ever made it into the dictionary.

Let me know what you think!

